Curriculum Map

At Rokesly Infant and Nursery School we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum in Reception and Nursery classes, and the National Curriculum in all a subject areas in Key Stage 1 classes.

We regularly review our curriculum to ensure that National Curriculum subjects are effectively covered. We go beyond the National Curriculum at Rokesly. We work to develop your child’s knowledge and understanding, but also develop their learning and life skills. We work to ensure our subject lessons are creative and engaging for all, taking advantage of the exciting opportunities offered both in and out of the classroom. We work hard to ensure our teaching reflects the diversity of our community and the interests of our children.

Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences before the age of five have a major impact on their future life chances. At Rokesly we recognize that every child deserves the best possible start in life and we provide the rich learning environment, opportunities and support that enables them to fulfil their potential.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum Outline

Use the links to preview the year group schemes of work:

Infants (Key Stage 1) Schemes of Work

Use the links to preview the year group schemes of work:

Festivals and Special assemblies

Throughout the school year at Rokesly Infants we regularly talk about and celebrate cultural festivals and those of the major faiths. As well as our work in class in line with the RE curriculum, we have special assemblies led by staff or parent volunteers to tell stories, show artefacts and talk about the traditions of these celebrations with the children. 

Autumn Term 2019
Friday 21st September – Harvest 
Monday 24th September – Rosh Hashanah 
Monday 5th October – Diwali
Monday 12th November – Guru Nanak Dev Sahib 
Wednesday 4th December – Hanukkah
Monday 20th December – Christmas and the Nativity story

Spring Term 2020
Monday 4th February – Chinese New Year
Monday 11th March – St Patrick’s Day
Monday 25th March – Mothers’ Day
Friday 5th April- Easter

Summer Term 2020
Tuesday 23rd April – St George’s Day
Tuesday 7th May – Ramadan
Monday 20th May – Wesali (Buddha Day)
Tuesday 4th June – Eid al-Fitr
Monday 10th June – Fathers’ Day
Monday 17th June – Summer Solstice (longest day)

2 + 15 =

Telephone

020 8340 7687

Address

Rokesly Infant and Nursery School,
Hermiston Avenue,
London, N8 8NH