Curriculum Maps

At Rokesly Infant and Nursery School we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum in Reception and Nursery classes, and the Primary National Curriculum in all a subject areas in Key Stage 1 classes.

We regularly review our curriculum to ensure that National Curriculum subjects are effectively covered. We go beyond the National Curriculum at Rokesly. We work to develop your child’s knowledge and understanding, but also develop their learning and life skills. We work to ensure our subject lessons are creative and engaging for all, taking advantage of the exciting opportunities offered both in and out of the classroom. We work hard to ensure our teaching reflects the diversity of our community and the interests of our children.

Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences before the age of five have a major impact on their future life chances. At Rokesly we recognize that every child deserves the best possible start in life and we provide the rich learning environment, opportunities and support that enables them to fulfil their potential.

Reception Year Curriculum maps

Our topics are broad in order to cover the EYFS curriculum for Reception. We follow the seasons and use themes that are close to childrens’ excperiences and understanding. Focus within each topic will change depending on childrens’ interests and needs. Use the links to preview the current year group medium term plans:

Our topics are broad in order to cover the EYFS curriculum for Reception. We follow the seasons and use themes that are close to childrens’ excperiences and understanding. Focus within each topic will change depending on childrens’ interests and needs. Use the links to preview the current year group medium term plans:

Infant Year 1 and 2 Curriculum maps

At Rokesly we organise our teaching of subject knowledge into themes. We use the Primary National Curriculum as our benchmark to sequence a progression of skills while also making links between different subjects. The content we teach at Rokesly creates readiness for your child’s future learning.
Use the links below to preview our year group curriculum maps:

Festivals and Special assemblies

Throughout the school year at Rokesly Infants we regularly talk about and celebrate cultural festivals and those of the major faiths. As well as our work in class in the RE curriculum, we have special assemblies led by staff or parent volunteers to tell stories, show artefacts and talk about the traditions of these celebrations with the children.

Autumn Term 2021

Monday 6th September – Rosh Hashanah

Monday 13th September – Rokesly Essential Skills – Speaky Beaky

Monday 27th September – Sharing and Giving

Friday 1st October – Harvest

Monday 4th October – Black History Month – Proud to be…

Monday 11th October – Equality Heroes

Tuesday 2nd November – Rokesly Essential Skills – Teamy Sharer

Thursday 4th November – Diwali

Monday 8th November – Remembrance – Walter Tull

Monday 15th November – Anti-Bullying Week

Monday 22nd November – Guru  Nanak Dev Sahib

Monday 29th November – Hanukah and Advent – Candles in the dark

Monday 6th December – Human Rights Day

Thursday 16th December – Christmas and the Nativity

Spring Term 2022
Tuesday 4th January – New Year

Monday 10th January – Rokesly Essential Skills – Amy Coluimbot

Monday 17th January – Martin Luther King Jnr Day

Monday 31st January – Chinese New Year

Monday 7th February – NSPCC Number Day

Monday 21st February – Rokesly Essential Skills – Jumpin Joinin 

Monday 28th February –  St David’s Day

Monday 7th March – STEM Week – Growth

Monday 14th March – St Patrick’s Day

Monday 21st March – Holi Spring Festival

Monday 28th March – Ramadan

Friday 1st April – Easter

Summer Term 2022
Tuesday 19th April – St George’s Day

Monday 25th April – Rokesly Essential Skills – Owlbert Einstein

Tuesday 3rd May – Eid al-Fitr

Monday 23rd May – Day for Change

Monday 7th June  – Rokesly Essential Skills – Kit Indicat

Monday 13th June – Fathers’ Day

Monday 20th June – Windrush Day

Monday 4th July – Haj – Journey to Mecca

Monday 11th July – Eid Al Adha

Monday 18th July – Leavers’ Assembly

 

12 + 14 =

Telephone

020 8340 7687

Address

Rokesly Infant and Nursery School,
Hermiston Avenue,
London, N8 8NH